Release Date: 2006

Prana Entertainment

amazon itunes-purchase

Track List

1. Round  & Round
2. Round Midnight
3. Icebox
4. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most
5. Moods (feat. Steve Connell)
6. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
7. Share It
8. The Wilderness
9. A Flame
10. A Change

Bass, Brain Bromberg, Jimmy Haslip
Keys, George Duke, Russell Ferrante, Renato Neto, John Beasley, Patrice Rushen
Guitar, Ray Fuller
Drums, Vinnie Colaiuta
Percussion, Lenny Castro
Horns, Steve Tavaglione

Round and Round – Russell Ferrante, Marilyn Scott, Jimmy Haslip
Round Midnight – Theolonius Monk, Bernie Hanighen, Cootie Williams
Icebox – Russell Ferrante, Marilyn Scott, Jimmy Haslip
Spring Can Really Hang You Up The  Most –Fran Landesman, Tommy Wolf
Moods – John Beasley, Marilyn Scott, featuring Steve Connell
Its Alright Ma, (I’m Only Bleeding) – Bob Dylan
Share It – Renato Neto, Marilyn Scott
The Wilderness – Russell Ferrante, Marilyn Scott
A Flame – George Duke, Marilyn Scott
A Change – George Duke, Marilyn Scott

About Innocent of Nothing

I’ve always tried to push myself into unknown territory. I believe it makes you better at being an artist but you are always filled with second-guessing. I remember every decision I’ve made in selecting a song or writing with a certain story to tell. I feel it is the obligation of the writer not to play it safe. I remember when I did the standard, “Skylark” for the movie, “Torch Song Trilogy”. I worked with the legend, Billy May and for three days we worked on different songs for the movie. He taught me something very valuable in that time, he suggested, “Sing like it’s a conversation”, and “breathe like your talking”, from that moment on till now, I’ve tried to sing and write like it’s our conversation.

Allmusic Editorial Review

Throughout her career, singer Marilyn Scott has straddled a line between traditional jazz vocals and the poppier side of fusion. Innocent of Nothing tilts slightly toward the latter, with catchy R&B-based tunes like “Icebox” and “Round and Round” alongside an oddly overwrought version of Bob Dylan‘s “It’s Alright Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)” that brings Scott Walker‘s melodramatics to mind. However, Scott‘s jazz side reasserts itself on her challenging take on the Thelonious Monk standard “Round Midnight,” which Scott approaches with the rhythmic fearlessness of Jeanne Lee or indeed Monk himself. Throughout, producer and bandleader George Duke keeps the emphasis on Scott‘s vocals, using the tropes of contemporary smooth jazz (lots of fretless bass and electric piano, that sort of thing) while never letting the album devolve into soulless background music prettiness, even on lightweight tunes like “A Flame.”

Listen to the Album

  1. Round & Round
  2. 'Round Midnight
  3. Icebox
  4. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most
  5. Moods (Featuring Steve Connell)
  6. It's Alright, Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)
  7. Share It
  8. The Wilderness
  9. A Flame
  10. A Change


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.