Release Date: 2005

Prana Entertainment

amazon itunes-purchase

Track List

1. Starting to Fall
2. You Don’t Know Me
3. The Look of Love
4. Close Enough
5. Get Home
6. In Your Eyes
7. Understanding Love
8. The Last Day
9. Loving You
10. I’m Calling You
11. You Don’t Know What Love Is (feat. Frank McComb)
12. Smile
13. Give In
14. Don’t Let Love Get Away
15. I Always Think of You
16. Let Me Be the One


Various Producers

Michael Landau, Guitar
Jimmy Haslip, Bass
Russell Ferrante, Keys
Will Kennedy, Drums
Ray Fuller
, Guitar
Jimmy Haslip. Bass
Renato Neto, Keys
Jimmy Haslip, Drum Programming

Starting To Fall –  George Duke, Marilyn Scott
You Don’t Know Me –  Eddy Arnold, Cindy Walker
The Look of Love –  Burt Bacharach, Hal David
Close Enough –  Brenda Russell, Marilyn Scott
Get Home –  Russell Ferrante, Jimmy Haslip, Marilyn Scott
In Your Eyes – Peter Gabriel
Understanding Love – Marilyn Scott, Ross Vanelli
The Last Day –  John Ewbank, Brenda Russell
Loving You –  Vicky Mishoulam
I’m Calling You –  George Duke, Marilyn Scott
You Don’t Know What Love Is (feat. Frank McComb) –  Gene DePaul, Don Raye
Smile –  Charlie Chaplin, Geoffrey Parsons, John Turner
Give In –  Russell Ferrante, Marilyn Scott, Jimmy Haslip, Lori Perry
Don’t Let Love Get Away –  Jimmy Haslip, Marilyn Scott
Let Me Be The One – Burt Bacharach, Denise Rich, Taja Seville

About Handpicked

Amazon Review

These 16 tracks are a backward look at many albums and CD’s that reaches over 10 years of work. A decade of songs ranging from the 1990’s to 2001, unique in one-way or another. Some are R&B laced and some are with a contemporary jazz feel, but most have a lyric that had a common way of talking to the listener.  I always tried to make the melody interesting, if I wrote the song, and most of the people I wrote with at the time were striving for a wider commercial edge. I took chances in some but I wanted to head towards a stronger Jazz repertoire and so I did starting in the early 2000’s.

HANDPICKED is Ms. Scott’s ninth CD release to date… And handpicked it is. Sixteen tracks in all, carefully selected from Marilyn’s favorite songs from throughout her career. She conferred with music retailers across the country to collaborate with the community that supports her music to determine which key songs from various releases be made available on one CD. HANDPICKED includes “The Look Of Love,” Top 10 Radio hits, “The Last Day,” “I’m Calling You,” as well as two previously unreleased in the U.S. songs, Peter Gabriel’s “In Your Eyes,” and “Understanding Love.” Both are killer and we believe will find their way on to Smooth Jazz radio playlists around the U.S. A confident smoothness, and air of sensuality accompanies each and every Marilyn Scott tune uniquely, including these dynamic new tracks on HANDPICKED. This beautifully packaged release runs over 75 minutes in length and promises to fill the air with skillfully produced, silky, jazzy pop that will enhance any environment. Marilyn is excited about presenting this selection of songs, but she is not resting upon the work that reaped such a lovely bounty. In fact, she’s in the studio as we speak, working on a brand new project with George Duke, Patrice Rushen, Renato Neto among others. Look for the new release on Prana sometime in early 2006. We’ll expect nothing less than more carefully created and handpicked songs of the highest quality

Listen to the Album

  1. Starting To Fall
  2. You Don't Know Me
  3. The Look Of Love
  4. Close Enough
  5. Get Home
  6. In Your Eyes
  7. Understanding Love
  8. The Last Day
  9. Loving You
  10. I'm Calling You
  11. Give In
  12. Don't Let Love Get Away
  13. I Always Think Of You
  14. Let Me Be The One


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.